FSA board appoints two new members

New members have been appointed to the Food Standards Agency (FSA) board by Health Secretary Patricia Hewitt, after consulting health ministers for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The new appointees are Tim Bennett, former President of the National Farmers Union, and Nancy Robson, former chair of the FSA consumer committee.

Bennett has been appointed to the FSA board for three years and Robson for two years.

Agency chair, Deirdre Hutton, (pictured) said: "I am delighted to welcome the two new members to the board of the Food Standards Agency.

"Tim Bennett and Nancy Robson bring with them enormous experience and I believe they will be a great asset to the Agency. I am looking forward to working with them."

Bennett farms in partnership with his wife Susan near Carmarthen in South West Wales.

He was deputy president and then president of the National Farmers Union of England and Wales between 1998 and 2006 and was also a governor of the Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research between 2000 and 2006.

He is currently on the council of Food From Britain, he is a member of the Agricultural Land Tribunal for Wales and is chairman of the Milk Sector Company on the new shadow Levy Board UK.

Robson is the former chair of the Food Standards Agency Consumer Committee and former member of the NCC's Consumer Councils Forum.

She is currently a Public Partner Reviewer for NHS Quality Improvement Scotland, and a Member of the Maternity Services Project Group for the former Clinical Standards Board NHS Scotland, now part of NHS QIS.

Robson is also a Development Award Assessor and a Millennium Awards Assessor and Adviser for the Prince's Trust and a former Board Member of the Prince's Trust Highlands and Islands.

My Account


Most read


For the third year running, a grain fed cow won the World Steak Challenge. What do you think produces the best beef?