Poultry industry awards winners revealed

The British Poultry Council (BPC) rewarded excellence in the poultry industry at its Annual Awards at the House of Commons on Tuesday (2 December).

Richard Hutchinson and Lindsay Broadbent from Aviagen Turkeys, and Noel Bartram, who is now retired, were all presented with Distinguished Service Awards by BPC chairman John Reed and Anne McIntosh MP, chair of the EFRA Select Committee.

Broadbent is Aviagen UK’s technical and account manager, while Hutchinson is the sales director at Aviagen; the latter has worked in the industry for three decades and the BPC said he had achieved significant turkey parent stock sales to Eastern Europe, particularly Russia.

Hutchinson said: “I am delighted and honoured to receive the distinguished service award. I count myself very privileged to be involved in such a dynamic industry and it has been a great pleasure to assist in the export of a product to many parts of the world, and see the industry develop and flourish.”

Bartram has over four decades’ experience working in the poultry industry and has held a number of positions within AVEC (the European body of Poultry Processors), the BPC and Red Tractor. He said: “I am delighted to receive this award. I have had many years of service within the poultry industry and to win this award alongside my peers is a real honour.”

Peter Bradnock, policy affairs advisor to the International Poultry Council, and CEO of the BPC from 1993 to 2013, was winner of the Rupert Chalmers-Watson Award, while John and Anna Franklin from Franklin Farms won the Marketing Award.

The Rupert Chalmers-Watson Award is presented for outstanding contribution and commitment to the British turkey industry.

Paul Kelly, chairman of the BPC Turkey Sector Group, congratulated Bradnock: “Peter has a long history of working within this industry. He is widely respected and a very worthy winner.”

Alan Huston, general manager-breeders & hatcheries at Moy Park won the Mid-Career Award, and Dr Tracey Jones, director of food business at CIWF, won the Special Merit Award for her collaboration with industry, NGOs and government over 20 years.

BPC Scholarship Awards were also handed out to Henrietta Kodilinye-Sims, veterinary associate at Slate Hall Veterinary Practice, and Kay Russell, PhD student at Scotland’s Rural College.

Want more stories like this in your inbox?

Sign up for our FREE email newsletter


My Account


Most read


For the third year running, a grain fed cow won the World Steak Challenge. What do you think produces the best beef?